I am a Writer

People on the outside think there’s something magical about writing, that you go up in the attic at midnight and cast the bones and come down in the morning with a story, but it isn’t like that. You sit in back of the typewriter and you work, and that’s all there is to it.
– Harlan Ellison

I am a Writer
I am a writer not by birth,
But by perception; though I may
Not write rhymes that rhyme I
Tend to be dismissed for Imperfection.

I am a writer not by birth
But by choice, for what I write
Can’t be spoken…., my words
Equivalent to a picture; having
A thousand meanings

I am a writer not by birth
But by heart for what I write
Is a piece of myself, a reflection-
Of one self, written in order to warn
Or rectify my future self or my Generation

I am a writer not by birth
But of mind, responsible for the
Conception of conscious thoughts,
Responsible for its safe delivery into
The uncertain world,

I am a writer not by birth
Nor by influence but of choice.

Mindful Edward™

4 thoughts on “I am a Writer

  1. I love this poem. I have to admit I am one of those people who does think that writing is a bit magic, mostly because in order to finish anything prose-y it would take an extraordinary amount of will force and attention. (and also I use words like prose-y)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks PMu. I also have to admit sometimes it is magical especially when when you get inspired out of nowhere.., and don’t be afraid to use and create new words its what makes each of our writings unique and beautiful.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

